Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Dr. Lonnie Smith - Think!

Dr. Lonnie Smith


Release date: July 12, 2019
Label: Blue Note
Format: 180 gram
Syle: Jazz
One of the funkiest & most inventive organists to ever walk the earth, Dr. Lonnie Smith made his name on Blue Note beginning with his 1968 label debut Think! Produced by Francis Wolff, the album featured trumpeter Lee Morgan, tenor saxophonist David Newman, guitarist Melvin Sparks, and drummer Marian Booker Jr., with Henry 'Pucho' Brown, William Bivens, and Norberto Apellaniz adding percussion on two tracks. Groove is the thing on this session from the hard-driving opener 'Song of Ice Bag' written by Hugh Masekela to Doc's laid-back original 'Slouchin'' to the band's joyful romp through Aretha Franklin s hit 'Think.' This Blue Note 80 Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

12 July 2019 / More records