Dirty Pretty Things Waterloo To Anywhere

Release date:
June 14, 2024
Buy vinyl:

Waterloo To Anywhere is the debut album from the short-lived, briefly adored Dirty Pretty Things - Originally released on Vertigo Records in May 2006, the album reached No 3 in the UK charts and spawned three Top 40 singles - This re-issue is pressed on high-quality 180g black vinyl. What do you do after being in the Libertines, one of the most notorious British bands of the early 21st Century? For Carl Bart, you form Dirty Pretty Things, something of an indie supergroup of their moment. Joining Bart was Libertines drummer Gary Powell, guitarist Anthony Rossomando, who'd stood in for Doherty, and former Cooper Temple Clause bassist, Didz Hammond. Leading Waterloo To Anywhere was the infectious UK Top 5 hit Bang Bang You're Dead, which set the tone for the fabulous collection of rock, punk and ska. Recorded in Los Angeles with producer Dave Sardy and then later in Glasgow with Tony Doogan, the album showed the strength of the group's writing. Away from the standard high-octane indie of Gin & Milk and You F*cking Love It, The Gentry Cove was particularly captivating, marrying Bart's fascinating wordplay with robust Clash reggae/sea shanty interludes. Two years later, it was all over; Bart and Powell rejoined the Libertines (and Rossomando later going on to win an Oscar for co-writing Shallow from the film A Star Is Born).

  • 1. Deadwood
  • 2. Doctors and Dealers
  • 3. Bang Bang You're Dead
  • 4. Blood Thirsty Bastards
  • 5. The Gentry Cove
  • 6. Gin & Milk
  • 7. The Enemy
  • 8. If You Love a Woman
  • 9. You Fucking Love It
  • 10. Wondering
  • 11. Last of the Small Town Playboys

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play