Dazy Outofbody (Coke Bottle Clear)

Release date:
January 20, 2023
Buy vinyl:

One amp. One mic. One person. Countless hooks. That's the Dazy formula. Since first releasing the single Bright Lights b/w Accelerate in August 2020, Dazy mastermind James Goodson has been writing, recording, and releasing new music like a man on the hunt to find the best pop hook, and he won't stop until he's put all of them into his songs. Showcasing a unique set of influences, Dazy's sound marries thumping drum machine beats, blasts of feeding back guitar, and sugar-sweet hooks into something that sounds like Godflesh covering Oasis-or maybe the other way around. With lean songwriting that recalls Teenage Fanclub but a home-recorded production style better suited for Big Black, Goodson builds a constant churn of abrasive, consuming noise and then makes it catchier than anyone else would ever dare to.Dazy released two EPs, Revolving Door and The Crowded Mind, in 2021, the latter of which landed on Stereogum's '25 Great EPs From 2021' list.' Ever-prolific, all of those songs and more appeared on Dazy's August 2021 collection, MAXIMUMBLASTSUPERLOUD: The First 24 Songs (Convulse Records), which was also included on multiple year-end lists such as Paste's '50 Best Albums of 2021' and '40 Best Rock Albums of 2021,' and The Alternative's '50 Top Records of 2021'-in addition to garnering praise from Stereogum ("... sticky, fuzzy, overwhelmingly catchy power-pop, and it's got hooks for days"), Bandcamp Daily ('New & Notable'), and MAXIMUMROCKNROLL ("Absolutely ridiculous '90s college rock hook-laden pop"), among others. Dazy also released a collaborative single, "Pressure Cooker," with Militarie Gun in March 2022, which was praised by Pitchfork ("California hardcore meets East Coast fuzz-pop on this feel-good blast of '90s-style alt-rock"), Stereogum (#1 Song of the Week), KEXP ('Song of the Day'), The FADER, Revolver, The Guardian (UK), Brooklyn Vegan, and more-including the #5 spot on Paste's 'Best Songs of 2022 So Far' list.Dazy's anticipated debut album, OUTOFBODY, will be released 10/28 via Lame-O Records. All songs written and performed by Dazy. Recorded at home. Mixed and mastered by Justin Pizzoferrato at Sonelab.

  • 1. Out of Body
  • 2. Split
  • 3. On My Way
  • 4. Rollercoaster Ride
  • 5. Deadline
  • 6. Motionless Parade
  • 7. Choose Yr Ramone
  • 8. Ladder
  • 9. Awtcmm?
  • 10. Asking Price
  • 11. Inside Voice
  • 12. Gone

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play