Cormorant Tree Oh Swoontide Sea

Release date:
November 25, 2022
Buy vinyl:

“Marrying skeletal balalaika and disembodied samples with low-lying synth organ lines and a focal point here – Keane’s arresting vocals, it doubles as one of our favourite Irish tracks of the year thus far.” Swoontide is the distillation of several years of Mary Keane’s life, recorded on her laptop as and when a new song or idea would come along. Mary talks about her process: “I love to stitch in samples from nature as so many of my songs are inspired in some way by the natural world. I’m also drawn to more domestic sounds like my mother’s washing machine or water coming to the boil. I play some unusual instruments throughout the album including balalaika, theremin, psaltery and lots of improvised percussion including bread bins, biscuit tins, stones, and a spiral staircase.” Try taking a walk in the dark with this album, we dare you.

1 Thirty Deer Heads
2 Zip Issues
3 Sphere Of The Sensory
4 Pareidolia
5 Holiday Rigor Mortis
6 Pissing Stones
7 All Of It
8 The Cave
9 We Are Fruiting Bodies

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play