Bruce Cockburn Breakfast In New Orleans Dinner In Timbuktu

Release date:
November 25, 2022
Buy vinyl:

Written in 1999, Breakfast in New Orleans Dinner in Timbuktu is Bruce Cockburn's rallying call to his fans to look forward to the new century, while learning from the past. It contains a travelogue in the album's lyrics to both familiar places of home and family, as well as social imperatives from visits to developing countries. Through it all is Cockburn's reflections on the dynamics between men and women and spiritual mysticism. Musically the album features the vocals of three women who appear throughout. Jonell Mosser sings on two songs, including the hit single "Last Night of the World"; Margo Timmins of Cowboy Junkies on the sultry "Mango" and a cover of the Fats Domino nugget "Blueberry Hill;" and Lucinda Williams appears on four tracks. Her standout track is "Isn't That What Friends Are For," a tender song of friendship made more poignant by Williams' ability to convey deep emotion. Twenty-two years after it's original release, Breakfast in New Orleans Dinner in Timbuktu is being re-issued on black 180g double vinyl.

  • 1. When You Give It Away
  • 2. Mango
  • 3. Last Night of the World
  • 4. Isn't That What Friends Are For?
  • 5. Down to the Delta
  • 6. The Embers of Eden
  • 7. Blueberry Hill
  • 8. Let the Bad Air Out
  • 9. Look How Far
  • 10. Deep Lake
  • 11. Use Me While You Can

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play