Billy Valentine Billy Valentine & The Universal Truth

Release date:
March 24, 2023
Buy vinyl:

Acid Jazz presents a very special collaboration with Flying Dutchman to deliver the first new music from the iconic US label since the 1970s. Billy Valentine is one of the great soul voices working in America with a history as deep and varied as the Young-Hold Trio, the original touring company of The Wiz, with his brother as The Valentine Brothers, through to credits that include Swedish House Mafia. Collaborator Bob Thiele Jr. Is the son of legendary producer and Flying Dutchman founder Bob Thiele (John Coltrane, Gil Scott-Heron and many others), and an acclaimed producer and songwriter in his own right. Having worked together for over three decades, his vision was to produce a Billy Valentine record to reflect our times. Conceived in the summer of 2020, it is a response to the throes of a global pandemic and the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd. More than a covers album, this record uncovers the works of the likes of Curtis Mayfield, Gil Scott-Heron, and Pharaoh Sanders in a new setting. Recorded at EastWest Studios (formally the historic United Western Recorders), produced and mixed by Dave Way, and featuring a stella cast of session musicians, the album is as sonically stunning as it is moving.

  • 1. We the People Who Are Darker Than Blue
  • 2. Home Is Where the Hatred Is
  • 3. My People... Hold on
  • 4. You Haven't Done Nothin'
  • 5. The Creator Has a Master Plan
  • 6. Sign of the Times
  • 7. Wade in the Water
  • 8. The World Is a Ghetto

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play