Search Upcoming Vinyl Vinyl Release Lists Upcoming Vinyl Calendar
Atmosphere - Headshots: Se7En


Headshots: Se7En (3xLP)

Release date: October 18, 2019
After their debut album Overcast! was released, Atmosphere was still insatiably hungry. Slug and Ant wasted no time getting back to work, and quickly returned with Headshots: Se7en, a project that went down as an early classic in their discography. Recorded between 1997-1999, Headshots: Se7en was initially released on cassette only as a contribution to Rhymesayers' infamous "Headshots" tapes, a series of cassettes featuring 4-track recordings from all the various artists in the crew at the time. Each volume of the series was produced in limited quantities so, as the crew built their reputation, the tapes grew in popularity and soon became sought-after collectibles. In the early 00's, fans were regularly buying and selling the original cassettes on eBay for upwards of $100 each. In total, seven volumes of these Headshots tapes were produced throughout the '90s, with Se7en being the first to deviate from the compilation format of the series. Rather than featuring songs from all the various crew members, Headshots: Se7en featured 21 new tracks from Atmosphere only and, at first listen, it was obvious to fans and critics the two were pulling out all the stops. Slug was experimenting further with rhyme patterns and taking on various persona, while Ant was crafting more colorful instrumentation for the backdrops. In hindsight it's easy to see how Headshots: Se7en helped lay the foundation for what was to become a long and storied career. Now, in celebration of its original release 20 years ago, we've re-pressed this legendary project on limited color-in-color 3xLP anniversary edition vinyl!
  • 1. Sep Seven Game Show Theme [Explicit]
  • 2. Round and Round [Explicit]
  • 3. Tracksmart (feat. Mr. Gene Poole) [Explicit]
  • 4. Choking On The Wishbone [Explicit]
  • 5. The Jackpot / Swept Away [Explicit]
  • 6. At It Again
  • 7. Lyle Lovette [Explicit]
  • 8. The Stick Up (feat. Eyedea) [Explicit]
  • 9. Higher Learning [Explicit]
  • 10. To The Break Of Sean [Explicit]
  • 11. Deer Wolf [Explicit]
  • 12. Molly Cool [Explicit]
  • 13. Dungeons and Dragons (feat. Musab) [Explicit]
  • 14. Anterlude
  • 15. Advanced Communications [Explicit]
  • 16. A Tall Seven and Seven [Explicit]
  • 17. 2 Red Dog [Explicit]
  • 18. The Abusing of The Rib
  • 19. Write Now (Multiples No. 4) [Explicit]
  • 20. I Wish Those Cats At Fobia Would Give [Explicit]
  • 21. Heart [Explicit]
Order vinyl:

Vinyl & Turntable Accessories

18 October 2019 / More records