Ana Frango Eletrico Little Electric Chicken Heart

Release date:
July 12, 2024
Buy vinyl:

Here at Mr Bongo we have been inundated with people asking us to reissue this release. Ana Frango Elétrico's petit cult classic masterpiece 'Little Electric Chicken Heart' from 2019, which was only ever released on vinyl and CD in Brazil and Japan, has fast become a collector's item.Well received by fans, DJs, and reviewers on release, The Needle Drop expressed "Ana Frango Elétrico's authentically vintage fusion of chamber pop, rock, samba and jazz is a real blast!" listing it as one of it's Top 50 Albums of 2019. The album's reputation has been slowly building ever since, gaining a Latin Grammy nomination in 2020, and now solidly cementing itself as a gem of contemporary Brazilian music. Across the albums nine tracks, Ana blends elements and influences from MPB, Tropicália, indie rock, punk and pop, forging them together with a sumptuous dose of her signature style. The finesse of 'Saudade' kicks off the LP, one of Ana's most known tracks to a non-Brazilian audience. A sublime opener, beginning with a spellbinding piano solo before transcending into a beautiful dream-laden slice of warmth, complete with luscious jazzy horns and deft vocal delivery. 'Promessa e previsões' follows, the only track on the album not to be written by Ana, instead being penned by Chico França. It's a swelling and sweeping twilight groover, building and breaking across absorbing peaks.Other highlights on the album include the anthemic 'Chocolate', which was a firm favourite with a packed sing-along crowd when we heard Ana perform it live. Elsewhere, 'Se No Cinema' hits with it's quirky allure, charm and catchy melodies before transforming into a carnival spirit. Tapping into the richness of Brazil's new wave of musical energy, the album also includes a heavyweight lineup of collaborations with artists such as Dora Morelenbaum (Bala Desejo), Tim Bernardes, Antonio Neves and Guilherme Lirio to name but a few. A short, sweet and refreshing record, that leaves nothing to waste, marrying playful ideas with poignant themes. 'Little Electric Chicken Heart' is a future classic and will beguile fans of '70s Brazilian recordings, Gal Costa, Mac DeMarco, Stereolab, Superorganism, Caetano Veloso and more.

  • 1. Saudade
  • 2. Promessa E Previsões
  • 3. Se No Cinema
  • 4. Tem Certeza?
  • 5. Chocolate
  • 6. Vinheta
  • 7. Torturadores
  • 8. Devia Ter Ficado Menos
  • 9. Caspa

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play