Alex Hitchcock Dream Band: Live In London

Release date:
February 23, 2024
Pre-order vinyl:

Saxophonist Alex Hitchcock continues his mission to seek out new sounds and textures at the forefront of contemporary jazz, and to act as a catalyst to bring together some of the finest musical talents drawn to the fervid internationalism of the contemporary London scene. His response to the current challenging climate for artistic endeavour is to go big and go bold: Dream Band: Live in London is a truly groundbreaking project presenting three different 'dream bands' of his favourite musicians, captured live over three nights at London's legendary Vortex club performing music specially composed for each ensemble. The extraordinary line- ups he assembled are testament to the respect he has earned among his peers as a composer, player and bandleader with a uniquely inspiring vision. The band for the first night features the frontline of Mark Kavuma's trumpet and Liselotte Ostblom's vocals blending together over the trio of Rob Luft, Rio Kai, and Jamie Murray: the second features James Copus on trumpet with longtime musical partners Kit Downes on piano and Lewis Wright on vibes, and Conor Chaplin and Marc Michel supplying bass and drums, and the third sets Downes' piano alongside the guitar of Ant Law and Alexandra Ridout's trumpet, with the international all-star rhythm section team of Orlando le Fleming and James Maddren. Part of the album's delight lies in the unexpected combinations of these acclaimed players, and the new levels of creativity that they bring forth; the constant presence of Hitchcock's unmistakeable voice on tenor sax and the strength and consistency of his writing gives the project a compelling unity. Each of the three bands brings their own unique blend of voices to Hitchcock's compositions, taking them in directions unforeseen even by their composer. 1. Abaqua 2. Verglas 3. Oblique 4. Cakeism (Intro) 5. Cakeism 6. Cakeism (Bonus) 7. Momentum 8. Grace (Intro) 9. Grace (Part 1) 10. Grace (Part 2) 11. Cat Circles 12. Red (Intro) 13. Red (Intro) 14. Rio 15. Brocken (intro) 16. Brocken 17. Lift 18. Sach 19. Differentials (Bonus) 20. North Field

Install our app to receive notifications when new upcoming releases are added.

Get it on Google Play